Largest Suicide Prevention Organization to Honor Members of Congress for Exceptional Service

Allies in Action Award Presentation, June 14 – Open to the Press


June 14, 2016


5:30 p.m.


Liaison Hotel

Metropolitan Boardroom

415 New Jersey Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C. 20001


Media who would like to attend must RSVP with Alexis O’Brien [email protected].


Congressional Awards

  • Senator Harry Reid (D-NV) – Lifetime Achievement Award – For his lifelong commitment to suicide prevention, including a 1999 resolution in the United States Senate which led to the creation of National Survivors of Suicide Day. Reid is a survivor of his father’s suicide.
  • Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN)– As Chair of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) Committee, Senator Alexander has worked together in a bipartisan manner with Senator Patty Murray to advance the Mental Health Awareness and Improvement Act and the Mental Health Reform Act of 2016.
  • Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) – As Ranking Member of the Senate HELP Committee, Senator Murray has worked together in a bipartisan manner with Senator Lamar Alexander to advance the Mental Health Awareness and Improvement Act and the Mental Health Reform Act of 2016.
  • Representative John Katko (R-NY) – For his support of the Helping Families in Mental Health Crisis Act, his leadership on creating a Suicide Prevention Caucus in the House of Representatives, as well as being an outspoken supporter of mental health and suicide prevention.

Federal Partner Award

  • Bess Evans – Associate Director and Senior Policy Advisor, White House Office of Public Engagement, White House Domestic Policy Council – For her work in the White House promoting suicide prevention and mental health policies throughout the federal government.

State Legislator Awards

  • Representative Kelly Cassidy (IL) – For her continued leadership and support for legislation to prevent bullying and promote mental health and suicide prevention within Illinois schools.
  • Representative Mike Schlossberg (PA) – For his great support and advocacy work for people living with a mental health conditions and for removing barriers to treatment.
  • Representative Edie McClafferty (MT) – For her leadership on House Bill 374, otherwise known as the “Suicide Awareness and Prevention Training Act” which now encourages all Montana educators to receive regular suicide prevention training and requires the office of public instruction to provide for said training.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention is dedicated to saving lives and bringing hope to those affected by suicide. AFSP creates a culture that’s smart about mental health through education and community programs, develops suicide prevention through research and advocacy, and provides support for those affected by suicide. Led by CEO Robert Gebbia and headquartered in New York, and with a public policy office in Washington, D.C., AFSP has local chapters in all 50 states with programs and events nationwide. Learn more about AFSP in its latest Annual Report, and join the conversation on suicide prevention by following AFSP on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube.



Like what you're reading? Go to our Sharing Your Story page, where you'll find resources for sharing your own story, including story ideas, blog submission guidelines, tips for sharing your story safely and creative exercises to help you get started, and assignments for upcoming topics.

Write a blog post for AFSP! Click here for our Submission Guidelines.