Information for support group facilitators

This section applies only to in-person support groups. To list your online support group, contact Aubrey Robinson, Coordinator of AFSP’s Loss & Healing Programs, at arobinson@afsp.org or 212-363-3500 ext. 2062.

Support group listings

List Your Suicide Bereavement Support Group

To have your group’s information included in AFSP’s support group listing directory, please submit your support group.

Please note that our website only lists bereavement support groups for survivors of suicide loss; we do not list general bereavement groups. 

Update or Remove Your Current Support Group Listing

To make changes to your support group listing or to remove it, please fill out this form.

Drop-in conference calls for facilitators

AFSP hosts monthly conference calls for support group facilitators. These drop-in conference calls are open forums where facilitators can ask questions and learn from one another. Whether you are a new facilitator or have been running a group for years, the conference calls can help you be a more effective and creative facilitator. All facilitators are welcome.

The calls last about one hour and there is no charge to join. Facilitators are welcome to “drop in” on the calls whenever they like, whether for a few minutes or for the whole hour.

To join one of the conference calls below, call 1-800-882-3610 and enter code 2432461#

Thursday, May 14, 2020
7:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM CT / 5:00 PM MT / 4:00 PM PT

Wednesday, June 24, 2020
4:00 PM ET / 3:00 PM CT / 2:00 PM MT / 1:00 PM PT

Meet the Drop-In Call Moderator

Wendy Resnick is a member of AFSP’s Facilitator Training corps and is a nationally recognized expert on support group leadership. She is a clinical nurse specialist and cofounder of the Depression and Related Affective Disorders Association.

If you have any questions about our drop-in calls, please email Shannon Donnick, Senior Manager of AFSP’s Loss & Healing Programs, at sdonnick@afsp.org or 212-363-3500 ext. 2035.

Facilitator training

AFSP’s Facilitator Training Program teaches survivors of suicide loss and mental health professionals how to start and facilitate a suicide bereavement support group. The two-day trainings are appropriate for new facilitators who want to start a group as well as current facilitators who want to strengthen their skills.

Sign up for email alerts

Join our network and be the first to take action