Skip to content

Are you in a crisis? Call or text 988 or text TALK to 741741

¿Estás en una crisis? Llama o envía un mensaje de texto al 988 o envía un mensaje de texto con AYUDA al 741741

2022 Lifesavers Gala

About the Gala

Join us! We're back at Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City on Wednesday, May 11 at 6:30pm.

Whether you join us in-person or virtually, we can't wait to see you! 

At this year’s Lifesavers Gala, we are proud to honor those who bring hope in the fight against suicide. From scientists, to public policy advocates, to loss and attempt survivors and others, Gala honorees have gone above and beyond in drawing attention to the cause of suicide prevention, elevating public discourse around mental health and suicide, and successfully creating real change within our society as a means to ending this leading cause of death.

In addition to raising much-needed funds for AFSP’s leading initiatives in the areas of research, education, advocacy and support for those affected by suicide, the Gala is an opportunity for our supporters to come together and recognize the past year’s accomplishments. Our distinguished guests share inspiring and informative stories about how suicide has affected them, and their valiant and passionate efforts to fight it.

2022 Gala Host

Tanaye White, Model, Entrepreneur & Mental Health Advocate

Tanaye White
Tanaye White

2022 Gala Chair

John Arena, SVP, Head of Lundbeck US

John Arena


Suicide Prevention Champion Award: Kenneth Cole, The Mental Health Coalition

Kenneth Cole

Public Education Award: Melissa Bernstein, Melissa & Doug and LifeLines

Melissa Bernstein

Survivor of Suicide Loss: Courtney B. Vance, Award-Winning Actor

Courtney B. Vance

Lifetime Achievement Research Award: David Brent, M.D. University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, PA

David Brent, M.D.

Research Award: Brian Ahmedani, Ph.D., Director, Center for Health Policy & Health Services Research at Henry Ford Health System

Brian Ahmedani, Ph.D.


Lifesavers Gala Committee

David Biondi, Lundbeck Carla Canuso, M.D., Janssen Research & Development
Marian and James Cohen, AFSP National Board Jim Compton, AFSP National Board Chair
Christopher Epperson, AFSP National Board Nancy Farrell, AFSP National Board
Nina Gussack, Troutman Pepper, AFSP National Board Jonathon Kellerman, AFSP National Board
Cara McNulty, DPA, President, Behavioral Health & EAP at Aetna, a CVS Health Company, AFSP National Board Mary Michael, Otsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc.
Ray Paul, Jr., AFSP National Board Maureen Sheltry, Sunovion Pharmaceuticals Inc.
Ed Stelmakh, CFO/COO, OptmizeRx, AFSP National Board Marco Taglietti, M.D., SCYNEXIS, Inc., AFSP National Board