Skip to content

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Appoints New National Public Policy Council Members

22 Mar 2018 — 3 min read



Dark blue banner with lifesavers

Ask Dr. Jill Facebook Livestream, With The Mighty

Contact: Alexis O’Brien, PR Director, 347-826-3577, 

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Appoints New National Public Policy Council Members    

NEW YORK (March 22, 2018) Today, the nation’s largest suicide prevention organization, the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, announced the appointment of new members to its National Public Policy Council: Jim Biela, Bethel, AK; Jen Preble East Helena, MT; Ane Romero, Albuquerque, NM; Tom Robinson, Charleston, SC; Shannon Hall, White House, TN; and Michelle Toman, New Martinsville, WV. In their new roles, effective March 22, 2018, the council members will support the organization in its mission to save lives and bring hope to those affected by suicide. 

“Suicide is one of our nation’s leading, yet preventable, causes of death. Since 2009 I have been working with our nation’s leaders to help prevent this tragic loss of life,” said AFSP Vice President of Public Policy, John Madigan. “But we know it will take content experts and AFSP Chapter leaders from across the United States to help us determine the best direction and focus of our policy resources. We are grateful that these council members will dedicate their time to leading our advocates in the right direction.” 

The 2018 AFSP Public Policy Council members include: 

  • Nancy Farrell, Chair (Massachusetts) 
  • Richard Kirchhoff, Vice-Chair (Illinois) 
  • Michael Ballard (Virginia) 
  • Catherine Barber (Massachusetts) 
  • Jim Biela (Alaska)  
  • Melissa d'Arabian (California) 
  • Gordon Doughty (California) 
  • Robert Gebbia, Chief Executive Officer (Ex-Officio) (New York) 
  • Carol Graham (New Jersey) 
  • Shannon Hall (Tennessee) 
  • Che Hernandez (California) 
  • David Jobes, Ph.D., ABPP (Maryland) 
  • John Madigan (Staff), Vice President of Public Policy (West Virginia) 
  • Steve Moore (Illinois) 
  • Philip Ninan, M.D. (North Carolina) 
  • Jen Preble (Montana)  
  • Tom Robinson (South Carolina)  
  • Ane Romero (New Mexico)  
  • Bruce Shahbaz (Virginia) 
  • Deborah Temkin (Maryland) 
  • Michelle Toman (West Virginia)  
  • Tyler West (Arkansas) 

The AFSP Public Policy Council is comprised of AFSP National and chapter leaders, along with thought leaders in suicide prevention. The PPC meets quarterly, and is currently chaired by Nancy Farrell. The PPC makes policy recommendations every two years on federal, state and local issues for approval by the AFSP National Board of Directors, with new members joining every year. The PPC has been meeting quarterly since 2009.  

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention is dedicated to saving lives and bringing hope to those affected by suicide. AFSP creates a culture that’s smart about mental health through education and community programs, develops suicide prevention through research and advocacy, and provides support for those affected by suicide. Led by CEO Robert Gebbia and headquartered in New York, and with a public policy office in Washington, D.C., AFSP has local chapters in all 50 states with programs and events nationwide. Learn more about AFSP in its latest Annual Report, and join the conversation on suicide prevention by following AFSP on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and YouTube 

# # #

Connection makes a difference

Find a chapter